ARAGEN LIFE SCIENCES — DRHP Analysis
Filed with SEBI on
Aragen Life Sciences Limited is an integrated contract research, development and manufacturing organization (CRDMO) providing end-to-end solutions across the drug lifecycle for small molecules and biologics to global innovator pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies. The IPO comprises a Fresh Issue of up to ₹800.00 crore and an Offer for Sale of up to 27,329,192 equity shares.
Central question
Can Aragen sustain its 18%+ revenue growth and margin expansion while scaling high-potent small molecules and biologics capabilities in a competitive global CRDMO landscape?
Aragen demonstrates strong scientific depth with India's highest CRDMO PhD ratio (14.04%) and embedded relationships with 16 of the top 20 Big Pharma companies yielding 95% repeat business. Operating cash flows remain robust, and Fresh Issue proceeds will largely eliminate balance sheet debt while funding high-margin biologics and HPAPI expansions.
Offer structure
| Total issue size | Not disclosed |
| Fresh issue | ₹800 Cr |
| Offer for sale | — |
| Price band | Not yet announced |
Balance sheet deleveraging and expansion of small molecules and biologics manufacturing capabilities.
Debt repayment/prepayment of ₹385.00 crore, capex of ₹154.00 crore for Hyderabad facilities, and capex of ₹71.00 crore for Bengaluru biologics facility.
What it sells
Who pays: Global innovator pharmaceutical and emerging biotechnology companies located primarily in North America (54.80%), Europe (29.67%), and Rest of the World (10.31%).. What it sells: Contract discovery, pre-clinical research (CRO), and contract development and manufacturing (CDMO) solutions across small molecules and biologics.. How it delivers: Through integrated research laboratories and cGMP manufacturing facilities in India and the US, supported by a scientific workforce of 3,412 personnel including 479 PhDs.. How it earns: Earns revenue through full-time equivalent (FTE) and fee-for-service (FFS) contracts across CRO (64.51% of FY26 revenue) and CDMO (35.49% of FY26 revenue) engagements..
Restated financials
| Period | Revenue | EBITDA | PAT | EPS | ROE |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fiscal 2024 | ₹1,657.58 Cr | ₹444.09 Cr | ₹160.1 Cr | 7.71 | |
| Fiscal 2025 | ₹1,845.11 Cr | ₹472.4 Cr | ₹180.38 Cr | 8.65 | |
| Fiscal 2026 | ₹2,178.39 Cr | ₹593.77 Cr | ₹257.64 Cr | 11.74 |
Business model
Aragen Life Sciences Limited is an integrated contract research, development and manufacturing organization (CRDMO) operating across the drug lifecycle for small molecules and biologics, serving global innovator pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies.
- The company operates as a fully integrated CRDMO spanning contract discovery, pre-clinical research, and contract development and manufacturing for small molecules and biologics. (CRDMO platform across small molecules and biologics, Fiscal 2026) — Positions the company to serve pharmaceutical and biotech clients from early discovery through commercial manufacturing under a follow-the-customer delivery model. [1]
- In Fiscal 2026, Contract Research (CRO) contributed 64.51% of revenue from operations, while Contract Development and Manufacturing (CDMO) contributed 35.49%. (CRO: 64.51% (₹14,052.94 million); CDMO: 35.49% (₹7,730.98 million), Fiscal 2026) — Demonstrates the revenue composition, where discovery and preclinical research form the majority of business while CDMO is scaling rapidly at a 19.15% CAGR between FY24 and FY26. [1]
- Aragen generated 94.78% of its Fiscal 2026 revenue from operations from markets outside India, led by North America (54.80%) and Europe (29.67%). (North America: 54.80%; Europe: 29.67%; Rest of the World: 10.31%; India: 5.22%, Fiscal 2026) — Reflects high reliance on developed international markets and exposure to global biopharma R&D spending cycles and foreign exchange fluctuations. [1]
Open questions: What is the breakdown of revenue between FTE (full-time equivalent) and FFS (fee-for-service) contracts across CRO and CDMO segments?
Growth thesis
Growth is driven by expansion in Biologics DS capacity (2.5 KL to 8.5 KL), addition of Biologics fill-finish capability, establishment of OEB-6 HPAPI and OEB-4 formulation facilities, and capturing market share from China+1 supply diversification.
- Aragen is expanding its Biologics Drug Substance capacity from 2.50 KL to 8.50 KL and establishing a Biologics Drug Product fill-finish line over Fiscals 2027 and 2028. (Biologics DS expansion: 2.50 KL to 8.50 KL; fill-finish addition, Fiscals 2027-2028) — Expands high-margin biologics CDMO capacity by 3.4x and delivers end-to-end gene-to-vial integrated solutions. [1]
- The company is developing an OEB 6 compliant high potent API (HPAPI) development facility and an OEB 4-compliant formulations/drug product manufacturing facility in Hyderabad expected to be operational by Fiscals 2027 and 2028. (OEB 6 HPAPI (FY27) and OEB 4 DP facility (FY28), Fiscals 2027-2028) — Enhances capability to handle highly potent molecules and integrated DS-DP projects in small molecules. [1]
- The Indian CRDMO market is projected to grow at a CAGR of 13.42% between 2025 and 2030F to reach USD 15 billion, outpacing global CRDMO market growth of 8.41%. (Indian CRDMO market: USD 15 billion by 2030F (13.42% CAGR), 2025-2030F) — Macro tailwind driven by cost advantage (30-40% lower than US/Europe) and 'China+1' supply chain diversification. [1]
Open questions: What is the projected capex requirement and funding mix for the planned 250 KL expansion at the Visakhapatnam small molecule CDMO facility scheduled for Q1 FY29?
Offer & ownership
The initial public offering consists of a fresh issue of up to ₹8,000.00 million and an offer for sale of up to 27,329,192 equity shares by promoter and investor selling shareholders. Pre-offer share capital is 216,990,340 shares.
- The Offer comprises a Fresh Issue aggregating up to ₹8,000.00 million and an Offer for Sale of up to 27,329,192 Equity Shares. (Fresh Issue: ₹8,000.00 million; OFS: 27,329,192 Equity Shares, DRHP Date) — Provides ₹8,000 million gross proceeds for company debt reduction and capital expenditure while providing partial liquidity to investor and promoter selling shareholders. [1]
- Pre-Offer issued, subscribed and paid-up share capital stands at 216,990,340 Equity Shares of face value ₹10 each. (216,990,340 Equity Shares (₹2,169.90 million), As of DRHP date) — Base share count for determining dilution upon issuance of fresh equity shares. [1]
- Promoters collectively hold 128,976,198 Equity Shares representing 58.35% of the pre-Offer paid-up equity share capital on a fully diluted basis. (58.35% fully diluted promoter shareholding (128,976,198 shares), DRHP Date) — Confirms majority promoter ownership prior to the IPO. [1]
- Net proceeds from the Fresh Issue are earmarked for ₹3,850.00 million debt prepayment/repayment, ₹1,540.00 million capex for Hyderabad facilities, and ₹710.00 million capex for ABPL's Bengaluru facility. (Debt Repayment: ₹3,850.00 million; Hyderabad Capex: ₹1,540.00 million; Bengaluru Biologics Capex: ₹710.00 million, Fiscals 2027-2028) — Quantified deployment schedule directs funds toward balance sheet deleveraging and expansion of high-potent small molecules and biologics capabilities. [1]
Open questions: Will the company execute the permitted Pre-IPO Placement of up to ₹1,600 million prior to RHP filing, and how will it affect the final Fresh Issue size?
Financials
Revenue from operations grew from ₹16,575.77 million in FY24 to ₹21,783.92 million in FY26 (14.64% CAGR), while PAT increased from ₹1,601.04 million to ₹2,576.44 million (26.86% CAGR). Net cash from operations was ₹3,758.57 million in FY26.
- Restated revenue from operations grew from ₹16,575.77 million in FY24 to ₹18,451.07 million in FY25 and ₹21,783.92 million in FY26. (FY24: ₹16,575.77 million; FY25: ₹18,451.07 million; FY26: ₹21,783.92 million, Fiscals 2024-2026) — Shows sustained top-line expansion with FY26 growth accelerating to 18.06% YoY. [1]
- Restated Profit for the year increased from ₹1,601.04 million in FY24 to ₹1,803.80 million in FY25 and ₹2,576.44 million in FY26. (FY24: ₹1,601.04 million; FY25: ₹1,803.80 million; FY26: ₹2,576.44 million, Fiscals 2024-2026) — Demonstrates operating leverage and bottom-line margin expansion to 11.83% in FY26. [1]
- Adjusted EBITDA rose to ₹5,937.65 million (27.26% margin) in FY26 from ₹4,724.04 million (25.60%) in FY25 and ₹4,440.87 million (26.79%) in FY24. (FY26 Adjusted EBITDA: ₹5,937.65 million (27.26% margin), Fiscals 2024-2026) — Operating profitability metric tracking underlying performance across business verticals. [1]
- Net cash generated from operating activities stood at ₹3,758.57 million in FY26, compared to ₹3,357.09 million in FY25 and ₹3,885.73 million in FY24. (FY26 OCF: ₹3,758.57 million; FY25 OCF: ₹3,357.09 million; FY24 OCF: ₹3,885.73 million, Fiscals 2024-2026) — Confirms strong cash conversion ability despite working capital increases in trade receivables. [1]
- Consolidated total borrowings stood at ₹4,472.97 million as of March 31, 2026, and net debt was ₹208.19 million. (Total Borrowings: ₹4,472.97 million; Net Debt: ₹208.19 million; Total Equity: ₹22,312.43 million, As of March 31, 2026) — Shows manageable leverage with net debt to equity ratio near neutral prior to Fresh Issue proceeds deployment. [1] [2]
- As of 31 March 2026, Aragen Life Sciences Limited had total assets of ₹33,254.70 million. (33254.70, As at 31 March 2026) — Discloses the total assets of the company as of 31 March 2026. [1]
- As of 31 March 2025, Aragen Life Sciences Limited had total assets of ₹31,142.25 million. (31142.25, As at 31 March 2025) — Discloses the total assets of the company as of 31 March 2025. [1]
- As of 31 March 2024, Aragen Life Sciences Limited had total assets of ₹23,977.83 million. (23977.83, As at 31 March 2024) — Discloses the total assets of the company as of 31 March 2024. [1]
- As of 31 March 2026, Aragen Life Sciences Limited had total equity of ₹22,312.43 million. (22312.43, As at 31 March 2026) — Discloses total equity / net worth of the company as of 31 March 2026. [1]
- As of 31 March 2025, Aragen Life Sciences Limited had total equity of ₹21,146.45 million. (21146.45, As at 31 March 2025) — Discloses total equity / net worth of the company as of 31 March 2025. [1]
- As of 31 March 2024, Aragen Life Sciences Limited had total equity of ₹13,613.03 million. (13613.03, As at 31 March 2024) — Discloses total equity / net worth of the company as of 31 March 2024. [1]
Open questions: What is the expected resolution timeframe and financial exposure for the show cause notice regarding R&D export classification involving ₹2,409.70 million?
Moat & defensibility
Aragen's moat profile is underpinned by customer stickiness from long-standing Big Pharma relationships, an integrated US-India hybrid delivery model, high scientific qualifications (PhD ratio), and rigorous regulatory accreditations across six facilities.
- Repeat business from existing customers accounted for 95.00% of revenue from operations in Fiscal 2026, and the company works with 16 of the Top 20 Big Pharma companies. (95.00% repeat revenue in FY26; 16 of Top 20 Big Pharma served, Fiscal 2026) — Demonstrates customer stickiness and high switching costs once customer programs are embedded across discovery and development workflows. [1] [2]
- Aragen reported the highest PhD-to-scientific personnel ratio within the Indian CRDMO industry at 14.04% as of March 31, 2026, with 479 PhDs out of 3,412 scientific personnel. (14.04% PhD ratio (479 PhDs among 3,412 scientific personnel), March 31, 2026) — Serves as an intellectual and operational entry barrier for handling complex chemistry, biology, and novel therapeutic modalities. [1]
- Cross-selling between Discovery CRO and CDMO solutions expanded revenue contribution from dual-service customers to 50.60% in Fiscal 2026 from 42.17% in Fiscal 2024. (50.60% of revenue in FY26 (up from 42.17% in FY24), Fiscals 2024-2026) — Validates the economic defensibility of the follow-the-customer integrated CRDMO model by expanding wallet share per client without proportional client acquisition costs. [1]
Open questions: What is the average contract duration and cancellation penalty structure for early-stage discovery biotech contracts versus commercial CDMO agreements?
Governance
Aragen is overseen by a 9-member Board of Directors headed by Chairman Davinder Singh Brar and MD & CEO Manmahesh Kantipudi, including 5 Independent Directors, supported by clean audit reporting.
- The Board comprises 9 Directors including 1 Managing Director and CEO, 3 Non-Executive Non-Independent Directors (including Chairman Davinder Singh Brar), and 5 Non-Executive Independent Directors. (9 Directors (5 Independent Directors), DRHP Date) — Independent directors constitute a majority (>50%) of the board, adhering to corporate governance best practices. [1]
- MD and CEO Manmahesh Kantipudi was paid a gross remuneration of ₹55.82 million in Fiscal 2026. (₹55.82 million in FY26, Fiscal 2026) — Discloses key executive compensation structure within limits approved by shareholders. [1]
- Related party transactions are entered into at arm's length in the ordinary course of business, with key disclosures including dividends paid to promoter entities and key executive remuneration. (Arm's length transactions disclosed under Note 40, Fiscals 2024-2026) — Demonstrates compliance with Ind AS 24 standards. [1]
Open questions: Will SEBI grant the exemption sought under Regulation 300(1)(c) for GVK Power & Infrastructure Limited and Indore Dewas Tollways Limited currently undergoing IBC proceedings?
Risks
Key operational risks include customer concentration (top 10 customers contributed 43.29% of FY26 revenue), dependency on innovator R&D outsourcing budgets, stringent regulatory compliance requirements (USFDA inspections), and foreign currency exposure.
- The company is dependent on key customers, with top 10 customers contributing 43.29%, 35.41%, and 31.36% of revenue in Fiscals 2026, 2025, and 2024, respectively. (Top 10 customer share: 43.29% in FY26 (up from 31.36% in FY24), Fiscals 2024-2026) — Concentration has increased over the three-year period; loss or delay in orders from key customers could materially affect operating results. [1]
- Manufacturing facilities are subject to periodic regulatory audits; USFDA issued 6 Form 483 observations (classified as VAI) in March 2025 and 3 Form 483 observations in January 2026 at the Nacharam facility. (March 2025: 6 Form 483 observations (EIR June 2025, VAI); Jan 2026: 3 Form 483 observations (EIR May 2026), Fiscals 2025-2026) — Quality non-compliance or adverse inspection outcomes could risk regulatory warning letters, import alerts, or contract terminations. [1]
- The Group faces a show cause notice from the tax department challenging classification of R&D services as export of services (disputed tax liability ₹2,409.70 million). (₹2,409.70 million disputed liability, 1 April 2006 to 30 June 2017) — Material contingent tax liability for which no provision has been made in the books. [1]
Open questions: What are the remediation timelines and potential financial liabilities regarding pending criminal proceedings related to the 2019 Nacharam factory incident under the Factories Act?
Valuation framework
Valuation metrics are awaiting price band announcement. In Fiscal 2026, Restated Diluted EPS was ₹11.74 (Basic EPS ₹11.94), NAV per equity share was ₹107.47, RoNW was 11.75%, and listed peers Sai Life Sciences, Anthem Biosciences, and Syngene International traded at an average P/E of 68.89x.
- The Price Band, Offer Price, and resulting P/E multiples are not disclosed in the DRHP and remain blank. (Awaiting Price Inputs, DRHP Date) — Valuation assessment is pending price input finalization. [1]
- Restated Diluted EPS was ₹11.74 for FY26 (Basic EPS ₹11.94), ₹8.65 for FY25, and ₹7.71 for FY24, with a weighted average Diluted EPS of ₹10.04. (FY26 Diluted EPS: ₹11.74; Weighted Average Diluted EPS: ₹10.04, Fiscals 2024-2026) — Historical earnings per share benchmark for calculating P/E once the price band is announced. [1]
- Listed industry peers Sai Life Sciences, Anthem Biosciences, and Syngene International traded at P/E multiples of 80.04x, 77.58x, and 49.03x respectively, with an industry composite average of 68.89x as of July 31, 2026. (Peer average P/E: 68.89x (Sai Life: 80.04x, Anthem: 77.58x, Syngene: 49.03x), As of July 31, 2026) — Provides the relative valuation context for Indian CRDMO peers. [1]
Open questions: What will be the final Offer Price Band decided by the Issuer in consultation with BRLMs prior to RHP filing?
Litigation
- Aragen Life Sciences Limited: Show cause notice challenging classification of R&D services as export of services (₹240.97 Cr)
What the filing leaves open
- Analysis is strictly based on disclosed facts and figures in the provided DRHP evidence packet.
- No forward financial guidance or prospective earnings multiples were provided by the issuer.
- Valuation multiples cannot be calculated until the price band is announced.